Image-1 (10)
Image-1 (8)

Patrol- The Patrol Division's primary responsibilities are to respond to calls for service, conduct preliminary investigations, maintain order, and enforce traffic laws. Our Patrol Division Officers are encouraged to be problem solvers and to confer with the community they protect to resolve common issues.

DetectivesThe Detective Division is required to follow up on all criminal offenses that occur in the city. Detectives work with field officers to secure and preserve crime scenes, and interview witnesses.  The Detective Division handles the bulk of felony charges and includes the Narcotics Division which is responsible for identifying and eliminating narcotics issues in the City of Rockingham.  This Division also has an FBI Task Force Officer positions that works closely with the FBI in regards to Gang and Federal firearm cases.

Traffic EnforcementThe Traffic Enforcement Division handles road safety incidents, crash scene investigations and traffic control. The Traffic Enforcement team is a member of the Governors Highway Safety program and routinely conducts DWI checkpoints, participates in regional Click it or Ticket campains and assists the patrol division with routine calls.

AdministrationAdministration consists of the Police Chief and both Division Commanders. They are responsible for the overall readiness and operational functions of the department. They are also responsible for the performance of the investigations and any crime prevention programs, as well as, community policing, records unit, and other divisions that coincide within the department. Administrative tasks also include supervision of training programs, staff development, personnel recruitment, internal investigations, media relations, and technical services.


Mission Statement

"The Mission of the Rockingham Police Department is to enforce the laws and ordinances of the State of North Carolina and the City of Rockingham. By providing quality law enforcement we safeguard lives, enhance community safety, protect property and reduce the impact and fear of crime. Our officers seek and preserve public confidence by impartial observance of the law and by offering service and trust to all members of the public."


The Police Department serves a population of approximately 10,000 citizens in Richmond County. The department has three main divisions: Patrol, Detectives and Administrative Services.  

There are 36 sworn officers and two full-time administrative assistants. The Detective Division consists of seven investigators. The Police Department also has four specialized units including: a Traffic Enforcement team, Tactical Response Unit, UAV unit, and a K-9 unit.